Yawgatog.com

Resources

Magic Rules Changes

Kaladesh to Commander (2016 Edition)

General

KaladeshCommander (2016 Edition)
107.8a.107.8a.

"{LEVEL N1-N2} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has at least N1 level counters on it, but no more than N2 level counters on it, it's [P/T] and has [abilities]."

"{LEVEL N1-N2} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has at least N1 level counters on it, but no more than N2 level counters on it, it has base power and toughness [P/T] and has [abilities]."

107.8b.107.8b.

"{LEVEL N3+} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has N3 or more level counters on it, it's [P/T] and has [abilities]."

"{LEVEL N3+} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has N3 or more level counters on it, it has base power and toughness [P/T] and has [abilities]."

511.2.511.2.

Abilities that trigger "at end of combat" trigger as the end of combat damage step begins. Abilities that last "until end of combat" expire at the end of the combat phase.

Abilities that trigger "at end of combat" trigger as the end of combat step begins. Effects that last "until end of combat" expire at the end of the combat phase.

601.2i.601.2i.

Once the steps described in 601.2a-h are completed, the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell's controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority.

Once the steps described in 601.2a-h are completed, effects that modify the characteristics of the spell as it's cast are applied, then the spell becomes cast. Any abilities that trigger when a spell is cast or put onto the stack trigger at this time. If the spell's controller had priority before casting it, he or she gets priority.

603.6b.603.6b.

Continuous effects that modify characteristics of a permanent do so the moment the permanent is on the battlefield (and not before then). The permanent is never on the battlefield with its unmodified characteristics. Continuous effects don't apply before the permanent is on the battlefield, however (see rule 603.6e).

Example: If an effect reads "All lands are creatures" and a land card is played, the effect makes the land card into a creature the moment it enters the battlefield, so it would trigger abilities that trigger when a creature enters the battlefield. Conversely, if an effect reads "All creatures lose all abilities" and a creature card with an enters-the-battlefield triggered ability enters the battlefield, that effect will cause it to lose its abilities the moment it enters the battlefield, so the enters-the-battlefield ability won't trigger.

Continuous effects that modify characteristics of a permanent do so the moment the permanent is on the battlefield (and not before then). The permanent is never on the battlefield with its unmodified characteristics. Continuous effects don't apply before the permanent is on the battlefield, however (see rule 603.6d).

Example: If an effect reads "All lands are creatures" and a land card is played, the effect makes the land card into a creature the moment it enters the battlefield, so it would trigger abilities that trigger when a creature enters the battlefield. Conversely, if an effect reads "All creatures lose all abilities" and a creature card with an enters-the-battlefield triggered ability enters the battlefield, that effect will cause it to lose its abilities the moment it enters the battlefield, so the enters-the-battlefield ability won't trigger.

603.6c.603.6c.

Leaves-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent moves from the battlefield to another zone, or when a phased-in permanent leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. These are written as, but aren't limited to, "When [this object] leaves the battlefield, . . ." or "Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . ." An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left the battlefield checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. An ability that triggers when a card is put into a certain zone "from anywhere" is never treated as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, even if an object is put into that zone from the battlefield.

Leaves-the-battlefield abilities trigger when a permanent moves from the battlefield to another zone, or when a phased-in permanent leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. These are written as, but aren't limited to, "When [this object] leaves the battlefield, . . ." or "Whenever [something] is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, . . . ." (See also rule 603.10.) An ability that attempts to do something to the card that left the battlefield checks for it only in the first zone that it went to. An ability that triggers when a card is put into a certain zone "from anywhere" is never treated as a leaves-the-battlefield ability, even if an object is put into that zone from the battlefield.

603.6e.603.6d.

Some permanents have text that reads "[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ," "As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ," "[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . ," or "[This permanent] enters the battlefield tapped." Such text is a static ability—not a triggered ability—whose effect occurs as part of the event that puts the permanent onto the battlefield.

Some permanents have text that reads "[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ," "As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ," "[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . ," or "[This permanent] enters the battlefield tapped." Such text is a static ability—not a triggered ability—whose effect occurs as part of the event that puts the permanent onto the battlefield.

603.6f.603.6e.

Some Auras have triggered abilities that trigger on the enchanted permanent leaving the battlefield. These triggered abilities can find the new object that permanent card became in the zone it moved to; they can also find the new object the Aura card became in its owner's graveyard after state-based actions have been checked. See rule 400.7.

Some Auras have triggered abilities that trigger on the enchanted permanent leaving the battlefield. These triggered abilities can find the new object that permanent card became in the zone it moved to; they can also find the new object the Aura card became in its owner's graveyard after state-based actions have been checked. See rule 400.7.

603.6d.603.10.

Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities must be treated specially. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out, abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library, abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached, abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object, and abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane will trigger based on their existence, and the appearance of objects, prior to the event rather than afterward. The game has to "look back in time" to determine if these abilities trigger.

Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability "Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life." Someone plays a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact's ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner's graveyard at the same time as the creatures.

Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions, and continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities are exceptions to this rule; the game "looks back in time" to determine if those abilities trigger, using the existence of those abilities and the appearance of objects immediately prior to the event. The list of exceptions is as follows:

603.10a.

Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

Example: Two creatures are on the battlefield along with an artifact that has the ability "Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life." Someone plays a spell that destroys all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments. The artifact's ability triggers twice, even though the artifact goes to its owner's graveyard at the same time as the creatures.

603.10b.

Abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out look back in time.

603.10c.

Abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached look back in time.

603.10d.

Abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object look back in time.

603.10e.

Abilities that trigger when a spell is countered look back in time.

603.10f.

Abilities that trigger when a player loses the game look back in time.

603.10g.

Abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane look back in time.

603.10.603.11.

Some objects have a static ability that's linked to one or more triggered abilities. (See rule 607, "Linked Abilities.") These objects combine the abilities into one paragraph, with the static ability first, followed by each triggered ability that's linked to it. A very few objects have triggered abilities which are written with the trigger condition in the middle of the ability, rather than at the beginning.

Example: An ability that reads "Reveal the first card you draw each turn. Whenever you reveal a basic land card this way, draw a card" is a static ability linked to a triggered ability.

Some objects have a static ability that's linked to one or more triggered abilities. (See rule 607, "Linked Abilities.") These objects combine the abilities into one paragraph, with the static ability first, followed by each triggered ability that's linked to it. A very few objects have triggered abilities which are written with the trigger condition in the middle of the ability, rather than at the beginning.

Example: An ability that reads "Reveal the first card you draw each turn. Whenever you reveal a basic land card this way, draw a card" is a static ability linked to a triggered ability.

607.2g.607.2g.

If an object has both a static ability and one or more triggered abilities printed on it in the same paragraph, each of those triggered abilities is linked to the static ability. Each triggered ability refers only to actions taken as a result of the static ability. See rule 603.10.

If an object has both a static ability and one or more triggered abilities printed on it in the same paragraph, each of those triggered abilities is linked to the static ability. Each triggered ability refers only to actions taken as a result of the static ability. See rule 603.11.

615.12.

Some triggered abilities trigger when damage that would be dealt is prevented. Such an ability triggers each time a prevention effect is applied to one or more simultaneous damage events and prevents some or all of that damage.

701.25c.701.25c.

To proliferate in a Two-Headed Giant game means to choose any number of permanents and/or teams that have a counter, then give each exactly one additional counter of a kind that permanent or team already has. See rule 810, "Two-Headed Giant Variant."

In a Two-Headed Giant game, poison counters are shared by the team. If more than one player on a team is chosen this way, only one of those players can be given an additional poison counter. See rule 810, "Two-Headed Giant Variant."

702.40b.

The affinity ability reduces only the amount of generic mana a spell's controller has to pay; it doesn't reduce how much colored mana that player has to pay.

702.40c.702.40b.

If a spell has multiple instances of affinity, each of them applies.

If a spell has multiple instances of affinity, each of them applies.

702.93a.702.93a.

Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability (see rule 603.10). "Miracle [cost]" means "You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it's the first card you've drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost."

Miracle is a static ability linked to a triggered ability (see rule 603.11). "Miracle [cost]" means "You may reveal this card from your hand as you draw it if it's the first card you've drawn this turn. When you reveal this card this way, you may cast it by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost."

702.123.

Partner

702.123a.

Partner is an ability that modifies the rules for deck construction in the Commander variant (see rule 903), and it functions before the game begins. Rather than a single legendary creature card, you may designate two legendary creature cards as your commander if each has partner.

702.123b.

Your deck must contain exactly 100 cards, including its two commanders. Both commanders begin the game in the command zone.

702.123c.

A rule or effect that refers to your commander's color identity refers to the combined color identities of your two commanders. See rule 903.4.

702.123d.

Except for determining the color identity of your commander, the two commanders function independently. When casting a commander with partner, ignore how many times your other commander has been cast. When determining whether a player has been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander, consider damage from each of your two commanders separately. See rule 903.11a.

702.123e.

If an effect refers to your commander while you have two commanders, it refers to either one. If an effect causes you to perform an action on your commander and it could affect both, you choose which it refers to at the time the effect is applied.

702.124.

Undaunted

702.124a.

Undaunted is a static ability that functions while the spell with undaunted is on the stack. Undaunted means "This spell costs {1} less to cast for each opponent you have."

702.124b.

Players who have left the game are not counted when determining how many opponents you have.

702.124c.

If a spell has multiple instances of undaunted, each of them applies.

710.2a.710.2a.

"{LEVEL N1-N2} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has at least N1 level counters on it, but no more than N2 level counters on it, it's [P/T] and has [abilities]."

"{LEVEL N1-N2} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has at least N1 level counters on it, but no more than N2 level counters on it, it has base power and toughness [P/T] and has [abilities]."

710.2b.710.2b.

"{LEVEL N3+} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has N3 or more level counters on it, it's [P/T] and has [abilities]."

"{LEVEL N3+} [Abilities] [P/T]" means "As long as this creature has N3 or more level counters on it, it has base power and toughness [P/T] and has [abilities]."

801.7a.801.7a.

If a trigger event includes an object moving out of or into a player's range of influence, use the game state before or after the event as appropriate to determine whether the triggered ability will trigger. See rule 603.6.

Example: Carissa and Alex are outside each other's range of influence. Carissa controls a Runeclaw Bear owned by Alex and they each control an Extractor Demon, a creature which reads, in part, "Whenever another creature leaves the battlefield, you may have target player put the top two cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard." The Runeclaw Bear is destroyed and is put into Alex's graveyard. The ability of Alex's Extractor Demon doesn't trigger because the leaves-the-battlefield event was outside Alex's range of influence. The ability of Carissa's Extractor Demon does trigger, even though the creature is going to a graveyard outside her range, because the leaves-the-battlefield event was within her range.

If a trigger event includes an object moving out of or into a player's range of influence, use the game state before or after the event as appropriate to determine whether the triggered ability will trigger. See rules 603.6 and 603.10.

Example: Carissa and Alex are outside each other's range of influence. Carissa controls a Runeclaw Bear owned by Alex and they each control an Extractor Demon, a creature which reads, in part, "Whenever another creature leaves the battlefield, you may have target player put the top two cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard." The Runeclaw Bear is destroyed and is put into Alex's graveyard. The ability of Alex's Extractor Demon doesn't trigger because the leaves-the-battlefield event was outside Alex's range of influence. The ability of Carissa's Extractor Demon does trigger, even though the creature is going to a graveyard outside her range, because the leaves-the-battlefield event was within her range.

810.10d.810.10d.

A player is "poisoned" if his or her team has one or more poison counters.

If a rule or effect needs to know what kinds of counters an individual player has, that effect uses the kinds of counters that player has and the kinds of counters that player's team has. A player is "poisoned" if his or her team has one or more poison counters.

Enters the BattlefieldEnters the Battlefield

A nontoken permanent "enters the battlefield" when it's moved onto the battlefield from another zone. A token "enters the battlefield" when it's created. See rules 403.3, 603.6a, 603.6e, and 614.12.

A nontoken permanent "enters the battlefield" when it's moved onto the battlefield from another zone. A token "enters the battlefield" when it's created. See rules 403.3, 603.6a, 603.6d, and 614.12.

Leaves the BattlefieldLeaves the Battlefield

A permanent "leaves the battlefield" when it's moved from the battlefield to another zone, or (if it's phased in) when it leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. See rules 603.6c and 603.6d.

A permanent "leaves the battlefield" when it's moved from the battlefield to another zone, or (if it's phased in) when it leaves the game because its owner leaves the game. See rules 603.6c and 603.10.

Partner

A keyword ability that lets two legendary creatures be your commander in the Commander variant rather than one. See rule 702.123, "Partner," and rule 903, "Commander."

Undaunted

A keyword ability that reduces the cost of a spell based on the number of opponents you have. See rule 702.124, "Undaunted."