Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules Changes
Core Set - Ninth Edition to Ravnica: City of Guilds (Single Change View)
Old rule (Core Set - Ninth Edition) | New rule (Ravnica: City of Guilds) |
---|---|
Buyback [Click to view all changes.] | |
Buyback Buyback is a replacement effect modifying rule 413.2h. When playing a spell with buyback, the controller of the spell may pay an additional cost specified on the card. If he or she does, when the spell resolves, the spell is put into his or her hand instead of into his or her graveyard. If the spell goes to some zone other than its owner's graveyard as it resolves, buyback's effect "loses track" of it, and it isn't returned to its owner's hand. See rule 502.16, "Buyback." |
Buyback Buyback is a static ability of some instants and sorceries that functions while the spell is on the stack. "Buyback [cost]" means "You may pay an additional [cost] as you play this spell. If you do, put the spell into your hand instead of into your graveyard as it resolves." Paying a spell's buyback cost follows the rules for paying additional costs in rules 409.1b and 409.1f-h. If the spell goes to some zone other than its owner's graveyard as it resolves, buyback's effect "loses track" of it, and it isn't returned to its owner's hand. See rule 502.16, "Buyback." |