Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules Changes

Morningtide to Shadowmoor (Single Change View)

General changes

Old rule (Morningtide) New rule (Shadowmoor)


To untap a tapped card, rotate it back to the upright position. See also Tap, Tapped, and Untapped.


To untap a permanent is to rotate it back to the upright position. The untap symbol ({Q} in these rules) in an activation cost means "Untap this permanent"-a permanent that's already untapped can't be untapped again to pay the cost. Creatures that haven't been under a player's control continuously since the beginning of his or her most recent turn can't use any ability of theirs with the untap symbol in the cost. See rule 104.5.