Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules Changes

Shadowmoor to Eventide (Single Change View)

General changes

Old rule (Shadowmoor) New rule (Eventide)


An object may have one ability printed on it that generates a replacement effect which causes one or more cards to be removed from the game, and another ability that refers either to "the removed cards" or to cards "removed from the game with [this object]." These abilities are linked: the second refers only to cards in the removed-from-the-game zone that were moved there as a direct result of the replacement event caused by the first. If another object gains a pair of linked abilities, the abilities will be similarly linked on that object. They can't be linked to any other ability, regardless of what other abilities the object may currently have or may have had in the past. See rule 407, "Linked Abilities."