Shadowmoor to Eventide (Single Change View)
|Old rule (Shadowmoor)||New rule (Eventide)|
|502.21c. → 502.21d. [Click to view all changes.]|
If the text that depends on a kicker cost being paid targets one or more permanents and/or players, the spell's controller chooses those targets only if he or she declared the intention to pay the appropriate kicker cost. Otherwise, the targets aren't chosen at all.
If part of a spell's ability has its effect only if a kicker cost was paid, and that part of the ability includes any targets, the spell's controller chooses those targets only if he or she declared the intention to pay that kicker cost. Otherwise, the spell is played as if it did not have those targets. See rule 409.1d.